A LITTLE ABOUT STEFANIE

This is a journey of a lifetime and I’m so happy to share it with my sister from another mister.

I’m Stefanie.  I’m a married stay at home mother of 4 boys (Brandon (12), Kyler (6), Kolton (2 1/2) Bryce (16 months).  We are a former military family, and my husband is now working full time as an LPN and going to school full time an hour away to get his BSN.  In my former life before 4 kids, I used to be a CNA, a Health Unit Coordinator,  and Monitor tech.  I just turned the big 3-0 in August and I hate to say it, but besides being pregnant, this is the biggest I’ve been my whole life at 226.

Let’s go back to the beginning.  As a child I was as skinny as a stick.  Then that dreaded 5th grade hit and I kept eating right along with my brother who was a year old not knowing any better, and ended up being a bit chunky (with permed hair, glasses, and braces all in the same year, it was brutal lol).  The end of Jr High came and in to high school, and I lost a lot of weight in not so healthy ways and my lowest weight was 117 lbs.  My early 20’s were mess of working crazy hours, going out drinking when I had the chance and eating unhealthy food afterwards, you know the typical late night Taco Bell run or me slopping together something at home and eating right before bed.  Having children did not help.  I always got so sick during my pregnancies that I didn’t gain much weight at all.  Most would see that as a good thing.  Not me.  Because once I had my babies, I pigged out because I could actually keep food down!!  That coupled with my struggle to breast feed and trying to make sure I was definitely getting calories for that (but I used that as an excuse to eat unhealthy at times), I just lost focus of my weight, and of myself in general.  It’s now time to work on me!

I’ve had various struggles with  losing weight.  My biggest I would say is the timing of my eating.  I could go all day and eat nothing. I’m not usually hungry and just get so busy with everyone and everything else, I simply forget to feed myself.  I then in turn eat at night.  Sometimes a lot, sometimes not.  Sometimes healthy, sometimes not.  I’m also not a water lover.  The only way I seem to like it at all is if it’s ice cold and I put my peach mango Mio in it.   I also love Diet Pepsi too much.  I’m curbing that pretty well, but sometimes a girl just wants a Diet Pepsi.  And then there’s wine.  Sweet, lovely, delicious wine.  When I’m having a bad day, there’s nothing better than a nice chilled glass of wine (or 2 or 3 if the kids are being extra crazy that day).  I do however know how to eat well and when I try and want to, I can eat on point.  That being said, I tend to go with what I like over and over and over and eat it to death until I’m over it and need something else to keep me interested and going on with eating healthy (so I’d love for anyone to share any healthy and cost effective recipes they love).  And then of course there is working out.  Ugh, I dread it.  I’ve never in my whole life, skinny or fat, been a work out person.  Now with my husband being gone a lot of the time and me being home with 4 boys, plus the baby I watching, there is not much time, but I know if I want to I could really make the time.  I’d have to get up a little earlier, and be a little more tired by the end of the day, but I could do it.  I’ve tried gyms before.  Haven’t found anything that fits me.  I’m always worried about what people are thinking when my fat behind starts to jiggle as I work out.  I think I could probably work well with some sort of dance class, but haven’t gotten motivated to really check anything out.  I definitely need some tips and motivation.

Now here’s the most important question.  Why do I want to finally lose weight?  First and foremost, my kids.  I am not nearly as active as I’d like to be with them.  I’d like to be able to get up and down off the floor to play with them with ease and not have it be a struggle.  I’d like to do more outdoor activities with them and get out there in to the world with them more.  I want them to have me around as long as possible and obesity affects so many aspects of personal health.  Speaking of health, that’s another reason.  I’ve hurt my back recently to where I couldn’t take care of my kids alone.  It still hurts every day, it puts a damper on what activity I can and can not do and it’s a scary injury that my weight certainly did not help.  I have always had bad knees, and my weight has only made them worse over the years.  I can only imagine more and more is going to go wrong with me if something isn’t done.  I’ve worked in healthcare for years, and I’ve seen how obesity can affect you and I don’t want to do that to myself.  And lastly, I’m tired of saying to myself “I wish I could do _____ if I wasn’t so fat”, or, ” I wish I could wear ______” if I wasn’t so fat”, or, “Wow, I’m the fattest person in the room” ,because it’s sad, but I scan and I look.

I need a change.  It has to happen.  I’m not getting any younger, my life isn’t going to be any less crazy for years to come, and I need to do this now.  I’m leaning on Crystal and she’s leaning on me and we are going to talk each other up and through the struggles and get to squashing that weight!!

~Stef~

One thought on “A LITTLE ABOUT STEFANIE

  1. You have always been a lovely writer. I can feel your pain and frustration through this message. You got this girl 🙂 2014 is your year

Leave a Reply

